Gamescom 2021: All the games and announcements that matter

1 month ago 19
PR Distribution

(Pocket-lint) - Gamescom is Europe's reply to E3.

Held annually successful Germany, it is simply a likewise immense lawsuit for gamers, with the biggest forthcoming titles connected show for press, commercialized visitors and the nationalist alike.

Sadly, portion the pandemic is ongoing, Gamescom 2021 volition beryllium virtual-only erstwhile more. Here past is what to expect, erstwhile it starts, and however to travel everything arsenic it happens.

What is Gamescom and erstwhile does it tally until?

Gamescom started successful 2009 and is traditionally held annually astatine the Koelnmesse normal centre successful Cologne, Germany. It mostly runs successful mid to late-August.

 Best Switch games each   gamer indispensable   own

Top Nintendo Switch games 2021: Best Switch games each gamer indispensable own By Rik Henderson · 19 August 2021

However, since the planetary pandemic hit, similar astir conventions, it has switched to a digital-ony lawsuit with an opening nighttime unrecorded presumption and online crippled reveals that spans 3 days.

It volition commencement with a two-hour Opening Night Live presumption of much than 30 games astatine 8pm CEST connected Wednesday 25 August.

Gamescom volition extremity connected Friday 27 August.

Gamescom 2021 property conferences

While respective companies traditionally clasp property conferences and showcases astatine erstwhile Gamescoms, lone 1 large steadfast has announced its ain circumstantial lawsuit truthful far: Xbox.

Xbox astatine Gamescom 2021

Xbox has hosted property conferences astatine Gamescom successful the past and volition bash truthful again successful 2021, albeit online this time.

It volition footwear disconnected up of Gamescom itself, connected Tuesday 24 August, starting astatine 7pm CEST. Pocket-lint should host the livestream present person the time. Alternatively, it'll beryllium disposable crossed each Xbox societal channels, including YouTube and Twitch.

You tin spot the times for your portion below:

  • West Coast US: 10am PT
  • East Coast US: 1pm ET
  • UK: 6pm BST
  • Central Europe: 7pm CEST

Join america digitally @gamescom this year. Our @Xbox watercourse is focused connected crippled updates coming this year. So to acceptable expectations, nary caller reveals oregon large surprises, but squad has a amusive watercourse planned with our astonishing hosts @vicious696 @kateyeager ! More here:https://t.co/FbkM1p7Ok3

— Aaron “Day One On Game Pass” Greenberg. (@aarongreenberg) August 9, 2021

Gamescom 2021 Opening Night Live

As mentioned above, Gamescom volition besides big its ain two-hour presumption connected the archetypal evening. Called Opening Night Live, it'll amusement footage, trailers and chat to developers for implicit 30 games.

You should beryllium capable to watch it close present person the time.

Here are the times for your region:

  • West Coast US: 11am PDT
  • East Coast US: 2pm EDT
  • UK: 7pm BST
  • Central Europe: 8pm CEST
— Geoff Keighley (@geoffkeighley) August 18, 2021

Gamescom 2021: Cosplay

One of the things that makes Gamescom a small antithetic to E3 and akin events is that it embraces cosplay more. Indeed, it has an yearly cosplay competition, truthful encourages a big of planetary visitors to formal arsenic Pikachu oregon 1 of their different favourite videogame characters.

While digital-only this year, the amusement volition inactive person a cosplay competition, conscionable online instead. Entrants are encouraged to nonstop photos to the organiser and a prime squad of judges volition big an online watercourse to take the winners.

You tin find retired much astir the digital Cosplay Village here.

Gamescom 2021: The highlights

As with erstwhile years, we volition bring you each the champion games and highlights of Gamescom arsenic they are announced. Check backmost present often.

Publishers taking portion successful Gamescom 2021

Here are the presently announced brands taking portion successful Gamescom this year:

  • 505 Games
  • Activision
  • Aerosoft
  • Assemble Entertainment
  • Astragon Entertainment
  • Bandai Namco
  • Bethesda
  • Daedalic
  • Electronic Arts
  • Epic Games
  • Frontier
  • Gamevil Com2Us Europe
  • Headup
  • Koch Media
  • Konami
  • Mediatonic
  • Netmarble
  • Next Studios (Tencent Games)
  • Pearl Abyss
  • Sega
  • Smilegate
  • Team 17
  • Thunderful Games
  • Ubisoft
  • Wargaming
  • Xbox

Writing by Rik Henderson. Originally published connected 4 August 2016.

Read Entire Article